Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Eagles announce 2019 team captains

The voting from the players is in and ... the 2019 Eagles team captains are the same as the ones from the 2018 season. A lot went right in the locker room during the '18 campaign as the team overcame a significant amount of adversity to reach the playoffs. The locker room recognized that the player leadership did a great job and deserved to be recognized for their stewardship through the tough times.

That means the following players repeat as team captains: Quarterback Carson Wentz (third year as captain), center Jason Kelce (second year), defensive tackle Fletcher Cox (second year), safety Malcolm Jenkins (third year), and linebacker/special teams ace Kamu Grugier-Hill (second year) will wear the big "C" on their jerseys this season. Head coach Doug Pederson will select a sixth captain for each game.

"I'm excited for these guys, because this is voted on by the players," Pederson said. "This is not hand-selected by me. This is who the team selected. They view these guys, as do I, in high regard.

"The role of a captain is to show leadership on and off the football field. The obvious role, from a public standpoint, is to represent the team for the opening coin toss. It's also the team's leadership group and they are the ones that are leading the charge, so to speak, not only during the week, but on gameday. We have a veteran group here that has been together for some time, and I know they're going to do a great job."

Pederson announced the 2019 captains during his daily morning meeting with the team in the NovaCare Complex auditorium on Wednesday.

Related Content