Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Allen, Johnson To Join Team's Honor Roll

The Philadelphia Eagles are excited to announce they are ramping up their alumni program in 2011 with an expanded presence of former players at Lincoln Financial Field.


The team will induct former Eagles cornerback Eric Allen and former defensive coordinator, the late Jim Johnson, into the franchise's Honor Roll at halftime of the game against the Dallas Cowboys on Sunday, October 30.

Allen played with the Eagles from 1988-94 after the team made him a second-round draft pick out of Arizona State. He recorded 34 interceptions, tied for most in Eagles history with Bill Bradley and Brian Dawkins, and holds the team mark with five interceptions returned for touchdowns. A three-time All Pro selection, he and Troy Vincent are the only Eagles cornerbacks to be selected to five Pro Bowl teams. Allen was part of the great 1991 Eagles defense that became only the fifth defense in NFL history to rank first in the NFL in fewest total yards allowed, fewest total rushing yards allowed and fewest total passing yards permitted.

Johnson was one of the NFL's most innovative and successful defensive masterminds. He served as the team's defensive coordinator from 1999 until his death in 2009 and his aggressive style kept Philadelphia at or near the top of the NFL in nearly every major defensive category since joining Andy Reid's staff. From 2000-08, Johnson's units ranked second in the NFL in sacks (390), 3rd down efficiency (34.0%) and red zone touchdown percentage (43.9%), and fourth in fewest points allowed (17.7 per game). During his 10-year tenure in Philadelphia, the Eagles earned seven playoff berths, five trips to the NFC Championship game and one Super Bowl appearance (following the 2004 season).

As the Eagles' defensive chief, Johnson's defense produced 26 Pro Bowl selections: Brian Dawkins (7), Troy Vincent (5), Jeremiah Trotter (4), Hugh Douglas (3), Lito Sheppard (2), Asante Samuel (1), Trent Cole (1), Michael Lewis (1), Corey Simon (1), and Bobby Taylor (1).

The Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll was created in 1987 to pay tribute to outstanding members of the organization. Allen and Johnson will become the 32nd and 33rd members of the team's Honor Roll, in addition to the inclusion of the entire 1948 and 1949 NFL Championship teams.


Additionally, the Eagles will honor a distinguished former player at halftime of each home game this season as part of the Miller Lite Flight Deck Halftime Report. Former linebacker Seth Joyner will be the first former player to serve as an honorary captain when the team opens its home schedule on Sunday, September 25 at 1 p.m. against the New York Giants.

Among the former Eagles scheduled to attend home this season are QB Randall Cunningham, T Tra Thomas, DE Hugh Douglas, S Wes Hopkins, RB Keith Byars and LB Bill Bergey.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content