Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Teammates Select Vick For Honor

The Philadelphia Eagles today announced that QB Michael Vick has been named the team's Ed Block Courage Award recipient of 2009.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. They are selected in a vote by their teammates for team effort as well as individual performance.

Vick joined the Eagles during the 2009 preseason and has played in 12 games, completing six of 13 passes for 86 yards and a touchdown. He has also rushed 24 times for 95 yards and two touchdowns. All three of his touchdowns have come in the last three games.

Previous Eagles award winners:

Jon Dorenbos (2008), Montae Reagor (2007), Jerome McDougle (2006), Chad Lewis (2005), Derrick Burgess (2004), Correll Buckhalter (2003), Shawn Barber (2002), Duce Staley and Tommy Brasher (2001), Cecil Martin (2000), Mike Mamula (1999), Bobby Taylor (1998), Rhett Hall (1997), Kevin Turner (1996), Charlie Garner (1995), Fred Barnett (1994), Andre Waters (1993), Jerome Brown (1992), David Alexander (1991), Ron Solt (1990), Mike Quick (1989), Wes Hopkins (1988), Gerry Feehery (1987), Jody Schultz (1986), Ron Jaworski (1985), John Spagnola (1984).

Vick, along with one player from each of the other 31 NFL teams, will be honored at the Ed Block Courage Award Banquet March 9, 2010, in Baltimore, MD. For more information on this award and the banquet, please contact the Ed Block office at (410-821-6252) or log on to

-- Posted by Bo Wulf, 9:45 a.m., December 23

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content