Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

LFF To Host Copa America Matches


Tournament organizers have announced group seeds and game dates for the historic 2016 Copa America Centenario, including three matches at **Lincoln Financial Field** in Philadelphia. The once-in-a-lifetime soccer summer event, which honors 100 years of the Copa America tournament, will feature some of the world's best teams and players competing from June 3-26 in the United States.

Lincoln Financial Field will host three matches (June 9, June 11 and June 14). The game times and opponents have not yet been determined, but the U.S. Men's National Team will be one of the teams featured in the June 11 match. Ticket information for all Copa America games, including the ones in Philadelphia, will be announced at a later date.

As the host nation, the United States earns the Group A seed, while Argentina, as the highest FIFA-ranked nation in the Americas (per December FIFA rankings), will be seeded top of Group D.

In celebration of the rich soccer tradition in the hemisphere and as the most decorated nations in the last 100 years in international competitions from their respective confederations, the national teams of Brazil and Mexico have also been awarded group seeds, and will head Groups B and C, respectively.

A recap of past events at Lincoln Financial Field. From lacrosse to tours and concerts, there is something for every fan. View the full gallery here...

The remaining 12 participating nations will be sorted into the four groups in early 2016 based on a public draw. Details of groups and procedures for the draw will be announced leading up to that event.

To be among the first to access tickets to this once-in-a-lifetime event, fans can visit ****. Due to the expected high demand for this premium soccer tournament, fans are urged to register early to guarantee access to information as it becomes available. More ticketing information will be released in the coming weeks.

The 2016 Copa America Centenario is the historic centennial edition of Copa America - the South American championship - and will be staged outside of South America for the first time. The tournament will feature six teams from CONCACAF and all 10 teams from CONMEBOL.

CONCACAF and CONMEBOL have partnered for the historic 2016 Copa America Centenario, setting a new standard for inter-confederation cooperation in the Americas and worldwide. The Copa America Centenario Local Organizing Committee, formed by tournament host U.S. Soccer, is a separate entity responsible for certain logistical and organizational details of the competition.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content