Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Anderson Nabs Ed Block Courage Award

The Philadelphia Eagles today announced that S Colt Anderson has been named the team's 2012 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. They are selected in a vote by their teammates for team effort as well as individual performance.

Originally an undrafted free agent signing of the Vikings following the 2010 NFL Draft, the Eagles plucked Anderson off of Minnesota's practice squad midway through his rookie season. That year, the former Montana product accumulated 12 special teams tackles in just eight games, including five in his NFL debut. In 2011, Anderson continued to be a force on the Eagles special teams units before suffering a torn ACL during a Week 13 game at Seattle. Despite missing the final four contests of the season, he was still voted by his teammates as the special teams MVP, leading the team in both special teams tackles (12) and production points (168).

Anderson spent the entire offseason rehabbing his injury and returned to the lineup Week 2 this season and again leads the team in special teams production points (165). He has also started at safety in the last two games, recording 19 tackles during that span.

"Colt is the epitome of what this award represents," said Eagles head athletic trainer Rick Burkholder. "He approached every day of his rehab process like it was game day. His intensity and passion and attention to detail allowed him to have such a quick and successful recovery, and I think that's something that inspires his teammates. Colt is a guy who has had to work extremely hard for everything he has achieved, and this is a well-deserved honor for him."

Previous Eagles award winners:
Mike Patterson (2011), Jason Avant (2010), Michael Vick (2009), Jon Dorenbos (2008), Montae Reagor (2007), Jerome McDougle (2006), Chad Lewis (2005), Derrick Burgess (2004), Correll Buckhalter (2003), Shawn Barber (2002), Duce Staley and Tommy Brasher (2001), Cecil Martin (2000), Mike Mamula (1999), Bobby Taylor (1998), Rhett Hall (1997), Kevin Turner (1996), Charlie Garner (1995), Fred Barnett (1994), Andre Waters (1993), Jerome Brown (1992), David Alexander (1991), Ron Solt (1990), Mike Quick (1989), Wes Hopkins (1988), Gerry Feehery (1987), Jody Schultz (1986), Ron Jaworski (1985), John Spagnola (1984).

Anderson, along with one player from each of the other 31 NFL teams, will be honored at the Ed Block Courage Award Banquet on March 18, in Baltimore, MD. For more information on this award and the banquet, please contact the Ed Block office at (410-821-6252) or log on to

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content