Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Eagles name 2021 captains

2021 Captains-2 copy (1)

The Eagles named six players as permanent captains for the 2021 season on Monday – defensive tackle Fletcher Cox, defensive end Brandon Graham, quarterback Jalen Hurts, center Jason Kelce, safety Rodney McLeod, and linebacker Alex Singleton.

The players were notified during a team meeting on Monday afternoon. Head Coach Nick Sirianni said that the captains were chosen by a vote of the players.

"No surprise to me. They've been great leaders since I've gotten here, and they've been great leaders in the past. So really excited for them to lead our football team," Sirianni said. "Again, when we talked about role, one of the main roles they have being voted as captain, that's a big responsibility when your peers vote you as a captain. So excited for the challenge they have ahead and for them to lead our football team."

Cox and Kelce are permanent captains for the fourth time. Graham is a three-time captain, while McLeod enters his second year as a captain. Hurts and Singleton are captains for the first time. The Eagles did not start naming season-long captains until 2017.

"It's a huge difference," Singleton said on Monday of the change in his role from last season.

The linebacker wasn't sure if he would be on the Week 1 roster, let alone become a starter midway through the year. Singleton finished the 2020 campaign with a team-high 119 tackles, the most by an Eagles linebacker since 2013.

Related Content