Philadelphia Eagles News

Seventeen Eagles Up For Hall Invite

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced its initial list of the 127 modern-era nominees and among them are 17 former coaches, players and executives with Eagles ties.

Here is a look at the 17 former Eagles: Randall Cunningham, Ron Jaworski, Brian Mitchell, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters, Cris Carter, Jimmy Smith, Carl Hairston, Eric Allen, Troy Vincent, Gary Anderson, Sean Landeta, Dick Vermeil, Bud Carson, Bill Cowher, Leo Carlin and Otho Davis.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will narrow down the list to 25 semifinalists in late November. From there, the list will be reduced to 15 finalists in early January. The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2013 will be announced February 2, 2013 on the eve of Super Bowl XLVII.

Carter, a wide receiver with the Eagles from 1987-89, was a finalist in 2012.

Of the 17 Eagles up for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, five of them are in the Philadelphia Eagles Hall of Fame - Allen, Cunningham, Davis, Jaworski and Vermeil. Two more - Carlin and Vincent - are being inducted into the Eagles' Hall of Fame in November when the Eagles host the Panthers.

Make sure to follow us on Twitter @EaglesInsider

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content