Skip to main content
Philadelphia Eagles

Philadelphia Eagles News

Dawkins Inducted Into SC Hall of Fame


Eagles Hall of Fame safety Brian Dawkins played at Clemson University from 1992-95 and finished his college career with 247 total tackles and 11 interceptions. He starred at free safety for three seasons (1993-95), earning first-team All-ACC and second-team All-America honors as a senior when he led the team and conference with six interceptions.

Dawkins was drafted by the Eagles in the second round (61st overall) of the 1996 NFL Draft and went on to redefine the safety position over the course of his career. He played 13 seasons for the Eagles (1996-2008) and three seasons for the Denver Broncos (2009-11).

On Monday, May 12, Dawkins was inducted into the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame. It is yet another accolade for the all-time great, who was inducted into the Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame in 2009 and the Eagles Hall of Fame in 2012. Dawkins was one of the headliners inducted, along with Rodney Williams, who played quarterback for Clemson from 1985-88 and finished his career as the winningest starting quarterback in ACC history. There six other inductees, as well – Edwin Bailey, Zam Fredrick, Monique Hennagan, Happ Lathrop, Randy Martz and Carl Short.

The induction into the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame marks the second honor for Dawkins in 2013. In January, Clemson established the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award, a yearly honor bestowed upon a former Clemson player for their performance on the field and in the community.

There is now one final Hall of Fame for Dawkins to enter – the NFL Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. He will be eligible for induction in 2017.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content