Philadelphia Eagles News

NFL Unveils Official Underclassmen List For Draft

Friday was the deadline for college underclassmen to announce that they will forgo their remaining eligibility to enter the 2010 NFL Draft. On Tuesday, the NFL announced the names of 53 players who have been granted special eligibility for the draft. Each of the 53 players is three years removed from high school and has submitted a written application renouncing his remaining eligibility.

Last year, 46 players were granted special eligibility for the NFL Draft. The Eagles selected two of those players with its first two picks - wide receiver Jeremy Maclin and running back LeSean McCoy. The total of 53 players matches the number that was granted special eligibility in 2008.

Remember for the first time this year, the NFL Draft will take place over the course of a three-day period. The first round will be held on Thursday, April 22 at 7:30 PM. The second and third rounds will be hosted on Friday, April 23 at 6:30 PM. The NFL Draft will culminate with the completion of the final four rounds on Saturday, April 24 at 10 AM.

Here is a position-by-position look at the underclassmen who have been granted special eligibility for this year's draft:

Quarterback (3) - Sam Bradford (Oklahoma), Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame) and Jevan Snead (Mississippi)
Running Back (6) - Jahvid Best (Cal), Jonathan Dwyer (Georgia Tech), Darius Marshall (Marshall), Ryan Mathews (Fresno State), Joe McKnight (USC) and Shawnbrey McNeal (Southern Methodist)
Wide Receiver (9) - Arrelious Benn (Illinois), Dezmon Briscoe (Kansas), Antonio Brown (Central Michigan), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Carlton Mitchell (South Florida), Golden Tate (Notre Dame), Demaryius Thomas (Georgia Tech), Damian Williams (USC) and Mike Williams (Syracuse)
Tight End (3) - Jermaine Gresham (Oklahoma), Rob Gronkowski (Arizona) and Aaron Hernandez (Florida)
Offensive Tackle (3) -Bryan Bulaga (Iowa), Bruce Campbell (Maryland) and Anthony Davis (Rutgers)
Center (1) - Maurkice Pouncey (Florida)
Defensive End (8) - Kevin Basped (Nevada), Carlos Dunlap (Florida), Clifton Geathers (South Carolina), Thaddeus Gibson (Ohio State), Everson Griffen (USC), Derrick Morgan (Georgia Tech), Jason Pierre-Paul (South Florida) and Jason Worilds (Virginia Tech)
Defensive Tackle (3) - Linval Joseph (East Carolina), Gerald McCoy (Oklahoma) and Brian Price (UCLA)
Linebacker (3) - Navorro Bowman (Penn State), Rennie Curran (Georgia) and Rolando McClain (Alabama)
Defensive Back (14) -Eric Berry (Tennessee), Morgan Burnett (Georgia Tech), Dominique Franks (Oklahoma), Joe Haden (Florida), Kareem Jackson (Alabama), Chad Jones (LSU), Reshad Jones (Georgia), Joshua Moore (Kansas State), Jerell Norton (Arkansas), Dennis Rogan (Tennessee), Amari Spievey (Iowa), Earl Thomas (Texas), Donovan Warren (Michigan) and Major Wright (Florida)

-- Posted by Chris McPherson, 3:25 p.m., January 19

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content