The Official Site of the Philadelphia Eagles



Sproles Named Finalist For Rooney Award

Posted Dec 12, 2016

The NFL announced on Monday afternoon that running back Darren Sproles is one of eight finalists for the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes those who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

All 32 teams submitted a nomination for the award and the eight finalists were selected by a panel comprised of former NFL players Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

Sproles, a 12-year veteran, has been one of the most versatile weapons in the NFL since he entered the league with the San Diego Chargers in 2005. He currently ranks eighth all time in NFL history with 18,912 all-purpose yards and earned Pro Bowl honors as a return specialist following the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

The winner of the award will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 4.

Recent Articles

Broadcast Schedule

Event Filter
Date Event Description Location
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday