The Official Site of the Philadelphia Eagles



LeSean McCoy Ranked No. 5 On NFL Top 100

Posted Jul 9, 2014

Fresh off of a record-setting season, LeSean McCoy has truly earned the respect of the entire NFL. The 2013 rushing champion was named the No. 5 overall player on NFL Network's Top 100 Players of 2014 on Wednesday evening in a vote of McCoy's peers around the league.

McCoy is the fourth Eagles player to be honored on the countdown this year and the highest-ranked Eagle to ever be featured since the rankings were first done prior to the 2011 season. The All-Pro running back joins teammates guard Evan Mathis (No. 88), quarterback Nick Foles (No. 70) and tackle Jason Peters (No. 67) on the list. McCoy is also the top player in the entire NFC East.

This is McCoy's third appearance on the rankings. After leading the NFL with 20 total touchdowns in 2011, McCoy was No. 18 going into 2012. McCoy had a down year for his standards, but was still considered the 45th-best player going into this season.

The honor is one of many that McCoy has rightfully earned this offseason.

McCoy Presented With Prestigious Wanamaker Award

It was a day for Philadelphia to celebrate running back LeSean McCoy and present him with the prestigious John Wanamaker Athletic Award, which McCoy accepted with smiles.

A special moment. A special award. More awareness of McCoy and his talents, and how fortunate we are to have him as an Eagle. For those who don't know, the John Wanamaker Athletic Award is as good as it gets in Philadelphia, presented "to the athlete, team or organization which has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and to the team or sport in which they excel." The biggest of the big names in Philadelphia sports are on the list of winners since the inception of the honor in 1961 (Hall of Famer Chuck Bednarik was the first recipient), one that McCoy deservedly joins.

What made it an even more unique moment for McCoy is that he was joined as he accepted the award by former running back Brian Westbrook, who served as a mentor to McCoy when McCoy was drafted in 2009 and who passed the torch of great Eagles running backs to McCoy in a nurturing manner. ... READ MORE

McCoy Nominated For ESPY Award

McCoy is a finalist for the Best NFL Player award after becoming the first Eagle to lead the NFL in rushing and yards from scrimmage since Pro Football Hall of Fame running back Steve Van Buren in 1947. McCoy's 1,607 yards on the ground and 2,146 yards from scrimmage in 2013 set new franchise records. McCoy earned Pro Bowl and All-Pro honors for the second time in his career.

The Eagles won a team ESPY Award in 2011 for Best Game after the Miracle at the New Meadowlands. Fan voting for this year's awards ends on July 16. ... VOTE NOW

McCoy Runs Away With FedEx Ground Honor

Running back LeSean McCoy took home FedEx Ground Player of the Week honors three times in 2013, and on Saturday it was announced that McCoy had been named FedEx Ground Player of the Year in a vote determined by the fans. McCoy received the award officially during the NFL Honors ceremony.

The ever-elusive McCoy had big games against Washington and Chicago in Weeks 1 and 16, respectively, but his finest performance came against the Detroit Lions in Week 14. Somewhere beneath the snowstorm that blanketed Philadelphia on that December afternoon, McCoy ran for an Eagles single-game record 217 yards, finding the end zone twice in a come-from-behind 34-20 victory.

While those games featured standout performances, McCoy played at a consistently high level for the entire 2013 season. His 1,607 rushing yards were not only the most in the NFL, but they are also the most by any Eagles player in franchise history, breaking Wilbert Montgomery’s mark of 1,512 in 1979. He became the first Eagle to win the league rushing title since Steve Van Buren in 1949.

This is the second FedEx Ground Player of the Year Award for McCoy, who also took home the honors in 2011 when he rushed for 1,309 yards and scored a league- and franchise-record 17 rushing touchdowns. McCoy beat out Jamaal Charles of the Kansas City Chiefs and Matt Forte of the Chicago Bears to bring home the award. ... READ MORE

Recent Articles

Broadcast Schedule

Event Filter
Date Event Description Location
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday